About the Parish Council

Councillors give their time voluntarily as it is an unpaid role. By becoming a parish councillor you become someone your community will look to for help, guidance and support – a community leader with the power to influence decision, work alongside other agencies and local government, create a strategy and deliver plans for the benefit of the parish you live in. Our current Councillors are:

Councillors 

Chairman - Councillor Dennis Clark

dennisclark@burnhammarketpc.uk

07785 391259

Planning Committee, Finance Committee, Police Liaison, Resilience Plan 

 

​Vice Chairman – ​ Councillor Peter Borlace
borlace@burnhammarketpc.uk
07725 314161

Planning Committee Chairman, Finance Committee, Staffing Committee

 

Councillor Jez Scoles

jez.scoles@burnhammarketpc.uk

07968 301244

Finance Committee Chairman,  Planning Committee, Allotment Working Party, Recreation Ground Working Party, Resilience Plan Working Party

​Councillor Rachel Campbell-Gray
rachel.campbell-gray@burnhammarketpc.uk
07771 788700
Staffing Committee, Resilience Plan Working Party

Councillor Dugan Aylen
dugan.aylen@burnhammarketpc.uk
07595 623259

Recreation Ground Working Party Lead, Allotment Working Party

 

​Councillor Sue Smith

07909 682105

susan.smith@burnhammarketpc.uk

Police Liaison, Resilience Plan Working Party

 

Councillor Gary Nelson

gary.nelson@burnhammarketpc.uk

07766 837097

Allotment Working Party Lead, Recreation Ground Working Party

 

Councillor Hannah Bingley

hannah.bingley@burnhammarketpc.uk

07790 323945

Councillor Frank Froud

frank.froud@burnhammarketpc.uk

07747 060409

Resilience Plan Working Party

Councillor Keith Morris

keith.morris@burnhammarketpc.uk

07979 524432

 

Parish Clerk: Caroline Boyden.  parishclerk@burnhammarketpc.uk 

07437 529179

 

County Councillor:

Cllr Andrew Jamieson

andrew.jamieson.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk

07450 679902

Borough Councillor:

Cllr Sam Sandell

cllr.sam.sandell@west-norfolk.gov.uk

07823 556402

Member of Parliament:

James Wild MP

james.wild.mp@parliament.uk

0207 219 3000

COUNCILLORS

The Role of a Councillor

 

They are elected to represent the interest of the local community as a whole and promote a harmonious local environment. The number of elected Councillors depends on the size of the area, in Burnham Market we are able to have 11 Councillors. Councillors that are co-opted onto the council serve until the next election date, which is in May 2023.

 

Local Councils are the first tier of governance and are the first point of contact for anyone concerned with a community issue. They are democratically elected local authorities and exist in England, Wales and Scotland. The term 'Local Council' is synonymous with ' Parish Council, 'Town Council' and 'Community Council'.

 

Local Councils are made up of locally  elected Councillors. They are legally obliged to hold at least four meetings a year.  Most meet on a monthly cycle to discuss council business and hear from local residents.  District and County Councillors regularly attend parish meetings and report at the Annual Parish meeting. Councillors are expected to attend meetings on a regular basis.​

Councillors must abide by a Code of Conduct, a set of rules on how Councillors are expected to behave. They must also declare their financial interests in the parish, details of which are kept by the District Council.